Music diary project – Day Four

09:15 – 09:30
Fleetwood Mac – Everywhere
AGF/Delay – Most Beautiful Kill
Funeral Party – The Golden Age Of Knowhere

How: Spotify on iPhone
Where: walking to work
With: just me

“Everywhere” was my morning earworm, so I surrendered. Delightfully sunny-spring-morning-appropriate, although it did confirm that I prefer the Vampire Weekend version. Then a couple of shuffles from the “albums not yet heard” playlist. Funeral Party are going straight in the bin, ugh, not for me at ALL.

10:00 – 10:04
Beach Boys – Student Demonstration Time

How: Spotify on iPhone
Where: office
With: just me

This won an ILM “Worst Beach Boys Song Ever” poll (which took place in 2009, but the thread has just been revived). I have a macabre fascination with bad music, so went straight to Spotify. Good Lord, this is the Beach Boys?

10:55 – 11:05
Doyle & the Fourfathers – Never The Bride / The Governor Of Giving Up / Lonely In Our Glory

How: Spotify on iPhone
Where: office
With: just me

They’re supporting The Undertones at the Rescue Rooms tonight. I accidentally played the B-side first. The A-side was much better, so I tried the last track on the album. It didn’t grab me.

13:15 – 13:45
Rolling Stones – Sympathy For The Devil
other unidentified tracks, played at low volume, none of which registered
Saint Etienne – Only Love Will Beak Your Heart

How: speaker system in deli
Where: same deli as Tuesday
With: staff and customers

I don’t think I’ve ever had a significant positive musical experience in this deli; several negative ones, though (someone in that place is overly fond of mournful singer-songwriters, who could only be appreciated in wholly different circumstances). Again, the music was only at the threshhold of audibility. So even when they play tracks I like, I’m barely aware of them.

16:30 – 17:10
PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

How: Spotify on iPhone (tracks 1 to 5), iTunes on laptop, external speakers (tracks 6 to 11)
Where: walking home; at home
With: just me

Enough with the first plays and random punts. This is my favourite album of 2011 to date (it’s also my favourite PJ Harvey album to date), and I’ve been thinking a lot about it this week.

18:50 – 19:10
Panda Bear – Tomboy (tracks 1 to 7)

How: iTunes on laptop, external speakers
Where: home
With: just me

Everybody else is playing it, so why shouldn’t I? Enjoyed it to start with, was tiring of the sound of it by track 7.

20:20 – 22:30
Doyle & the Fourfathers – one and a half songs
The Undertones – debut album plus remainder of live set

How: live gig
Where: Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
With: my friend Michelle, audience at gig

We caught the end of the support set, then took position at the very front, against the crash barriers. There must have been music between the acts, but it didn’t register at all. Great gig, will be reviewing it first thing tomorrow morning.

22:35 – 22:38
Oasis – Live Forever

How: DJ on record decks
Where: Rescue Rooms bar
With: punters at the bar

Heard this while buying post-gig drinks, before heading outside. The Rescue Rooms bar has vinyl DJs every Thursday evening. My favourite Oasis song, always good to hear it.

Favourite track of the day: The Undertones – Teenage Kicks (live)
Worst track of the day: Funeral Party – The Golden Age Of Knowhere

Leave a comment